Real, Actual Notes On The Pilot Of Six Feet Under

I’ve heard incredible things about both the pilot and the finale of Six Feet Under and at least the first has delivered. This is a super polished, arch, stylized look into the most crushing, unfair, devastating abyss that is death AND IT WAS AWESOME. The show notes I took weren’t meant to be at all serious, but they devolved quickly and yet evolved at the same time into and all-caps, sputtering, extravaganza of awe.

Ok, you have my attention cinematography.

Oh, Dexter’s in this. Weird.

RICHARD JENKINS!

THOMAS NEWMAN ILOVEU.  WHY CANT YOU DO ALL THE MUSICS?

HBO and Ravens, what’s up with that?

Yes. Classical music. Win.

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE WEIRD FUNERAL ADS TO OPEN EVERY EP

The worst things always happen in places where Christmas is sunny.

I LOVE THIS SHOW.

Dexter, you are weird.

A long time to leave that open space in the background…

CALLED IT. Bye, Richard Jenkins. 

Symbolism is Symbolic.

YOU ARE PREMIUM CABLE JEFF WINGER, NATE. I HAVE DECIDED.

I KNOW THAT ACTRESS. FROM WHERE?1

Oh God, the early aughts edgey girrrl look is really bad only ten years later. I’M SO DATED!

MMMGOOD CUT.

Oh no, it’s not even been ten minutes into the episode.

“IT’S JUST CRYSTAL METH.” WHOLE OTHER TV SHOW. BE THE ONE WHO KNOCKS CLARE JUST SYA NO!

HEE.

WHO ARE YOU KIDDING, MICHAEL HALL, YOU ARE A ROBOT.

Ha, high as balls, but yeah, she’s ok.

RICHARD JENKINS, WHY DIDN’T I HAVE THIS SPEECH IN MY HEADCANON WHEN I SAW CABIN IN THE WOODS? THIS AND DEAD LIKE ME WERE MAYBE NOT THE BEST COMBINATION. INCOMING EXISTENTIAL CRISIS.

…I CAN SEE WHY THEY NEEDED THE NEW HERSE.

OMG ALL THE SIBLING RIVALRY FOREVER PLEASE.

ALSO, I WANT FREDERICO TO BE PLAYED BY LUIZ GUSMAN EVEN THO HE WASN’T IN THE CREDITS. PLEASE, UNIVERSE? TIME CAN BE REWRITTEN.

WHY…THIS IS WEIRD. IT’S LIKE THE COMMERCIALS ARE FOR ACT BREAKS BUT IT’S HBO. YOU DON’T NEED NO STINKIN ACT BREAKS. IT’S ALL ONE STORY.

HANDS OF BLUE!!!!!?!!!!

RICO IS SQUIRLY AND I LOVE HIM.

BEST BEST BEST THE BEST AAAAAAH THE BEST. KEITH! KEITH YOU ARE THE BEST. YOUR MUSTACHE IS THE BEST. I WANT TO WATCH YOU WORK OUT. That’s…that’s not weird, right?

DO NOT Magnolia reference me right now, Brenda, I’m already in a state.

YOU DON’T NEED TO MAKE THEM SHOUT ALL THE TIME, ALAN BALL. ADVANTAGE JOSS WHEDON.

I kinda hope the jumps and projections aren’t a regular thing. You can only be clever so many times before you’re twee.

HEEEE.

KEITH! KEITH YOU’RE BACK!  OH SNAP. “POLITICAL” OH SNAP.

“IT WAS JUST SO REAL” IS THE CRY OF THE EMOTIONALLY NUMB HIPSTER, NATE. LOLZNATESHAIR.

This is the correct reaction to “I’m a WHORE!”

“I WENT CAMPING” is now officially my new euphemism.

Love the subliminal messaging above Brenda’s fridge.

RICHARD JENKINS YOU ARE BAMF.

GOD, YOU ARE PREMIUM CABLE JEFF WINGER, NATE.

This is an appropriately weird compliment for a funeral.

WOW. AWKWARD.

THIS IS PROBABLY MY FAVORITE SCENE AND THERE ISN’T A LOT OF TALKING.

AW, 2004 MUSIC, YOU’RE ADORABLE.

THIS IS LEGIT. AND IT’S WORDLESS AND VISUAL AND STYLED AND BEAUTIFUL. WE’RE ALL EQUISITE CORPSES!

THIS SHOW, MAN. THIS FUCKING SHOW.

I don’t mean to diminish the complicated things that Six Feet Under  is doing, both in formal and tonal terms. I’ll have more collected thoughts on the first two episodes in a bit, but when a show succeeds on a visceral level – the almost participatory, “Don’t go in there, you fuckwit!” level of engagement –  it is fantastic.

This entry was posted in Cable TV, Just For Fun, TV, Watercooler Talk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

